ForgottenBeeBlog talks to Harry Metzler @IllAdvised about his new album ‘Masochists’

 

 

IACoverPhotoFull

ForgottenBeeBlog chats to Harry Metzler who is @IllAdvised about hypocrisy, cassingles,  and not conforming……

Welcome to ForgottenBeeBlog Harry AKA @IllAdvised……..

FB  1/  As a musician you have a very unique quality and a multitude of talents. Is there a particular area of your music creation/production that you prefer doing?

Each part of the process is unique and important in its own way. It’s the overall process that is most enjoyable – the journey.

FB  2/  How do you discipline yourself to write music? Is it something you have a special environment or place where you need to be?

I’m always writing music. Over 25 songs were written for this record that weren’t recorded. When it comes to recording, I do need my own, solitary space, though. I need to be completely alone so that there is no judgment toward the performances and I can be as honest as possible.

FB  3/  What is your view on social media and promotion in general? Is this something that comes easy to you, or do you find this side of the music industry frustrating?

Most artists don’t enjoy promoting themselves. If we could just let the music speak for itself – which it does, at the end of the day – we would. The one aspect of social media I enjoy and appreciate is the ability to connect with likeminded individuals anywhere on the planet. I’ve met a lot of wonderful people, like yourself, as a result.

HarryBuildingGray

FB  4/  You have just released a new album ‘MASOCHISTS’, how has your music evolved, what outside events/people have affected this?

I like to constantly create – whether it’s writing poetry, taking photographs, or writing music – because like anything, the more you do it, the better you get. I think my records are all connected – there’s a continuity to the music I make. You can listen to ‘Parkway Divides’ (my first album) and ‘Masochists’ back to back, and I think you’d find some commonalities, like chapters in a book.

I’ve dedicated my life to being an artist, so the music I create is always evolving. I started recording this album the day I released ‘Parkway Divides’ at the end of 2015. It’s usually once I release an album that I start getting ideas for the next one. I knew I wanted to avoid the more straightforward, alternative rock sound on Parkway, so I ditched the acoustic drums for the most part and took a much more electronic, sound design inspired approach. Lyrically, ‘Masochists’ is a reflection of the world we are living in today, and is inspired by the 2016 election in the United States.

FB  5/  Who have been the biggest musical influences on your music over time?

Growing up in New Jersey, My Chemical Romance was the first band that I was heavily inspired by as a teenager. Gerard Way (the lead singer of My Chemical Romance) gave me the courage to step out from behind the drum set and start singing.

Nine Inch Nails completely changed the way I thought about music and production, and also inspired me to write and record all the music and instruments on my own. David Bowie of course set the standard on how to live an artistic life as a musician, always challenging yourself and progressing.

FB  6/  If you could perform anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I’d love to come to the UK!

IALiveatTimesSquare

FB  7/  What is your view on the resurgence of analogue, cassette tape and vinyl. Is this something that is important to you?

A cassingle for “Jack The Ripper” and “Pyre Of Denial” was one of the pre-order items offered on PledgeMusic for this record. I’ve always loved the physical component to music: the liner notes, the jacket, and the ritual of actually watching the disc spin while listening. I’d like to put out some vinyl at some point, but it takes quite a while these days.

If I get a live band together that really clicks, I’d love to experiment with recording to tape, with someone like Steve Albini, to see if something interesting might come of it.

HarryTimesSquare

FB  8/  What makes you laugh?

Hypocrisy.

FullSizeRender (76)

FB  9/  How do you deal with criticism? Have you ever had a bad review?

I don’t know if I’ve received a bad review, but I’ve certainly had reviews where the writer doesn’t get it. I don’t really care if people don’t like my music – I don’t make music to please other people – I do it because I have to. I was very shy growing up. Music has always been the one place where I could express myself.

FB  10/  If you weren’t a musician making music what would you be doing now?

There’s nothing else I can imagine doing. I’ve known this is what I have wanted to do with my life ever since I can remember. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do and it’s who I am. I am my music and there’s no separating the two.

FB  11/  Where can fans find you and purchase your new album?

You can find it on all the digital services – iTunes, Spotify, Apple Music, Tidal, etc. Limited edition CD’s were released on PledgeMusic. I’m hoping to release some vinyl at http://illadvised.net very soon.

HarryHudson

FB  12/  Who created the artwork on your new album cover, how important do you think this is in relation to the music?

I took the photograph that is on the cover for ‘Masochists.’ I do all the album covers and artwork, and edit all the music videos.

MasochistsAlbumArt

FB  13/  In no more than 40 words this is an opportunity to promote your album shamelessly ……..off you go!

‘Masochists’ is an album about the human tendency to bring about our own pain and suffering, whether through our personal choices – or even an election – and the madness that inevitably ensues.

FB  14/  Are you a spiritual person? If you could live by a mantra what would it be?

I was raised Catholic, so that’s always stayed with me to a degree. My mother raised me to treat people the way I would like to be treated, so I just try to be a decent human being.

FullSizeRender (77)

FB  15/  On ForgottenBeeBlog I invite my guests to share some poetry with my readers… in no more than 20 words create a poem including the words ‘Summer Nights’…

I think I wrote a song called “Summer Nights,” right? (laughs)

FB  16/ Is there an instrument you would really like to learn to play?

I played a bit of mandolin on this album, so I’m looking forward to continuing to improve with it.

FB  17/ If you could share the stage with any musician or band who would it be?

I’d love to play with Trent Reznor or Billy Corgan. I think they’re great musicians and fantastic performers.

FB  18/  What exciting plans do you have for the rest of 2017 and the new year 2018?

We just announced some new shows in New York City, with more to come. More music videos, more music, and hopefully a UK/European tour one of these days.

 FB  19/  How do you know when a track is finished are you quite strict on your creativity or is it difficult to let a piece of work go?

I don’t mean this as a cop out or a cliche, but I just know. It’s hard to explain, because I work in such a self-contained environment, but I just feel it when something is missing or a song is finished.

IAMainPhoto

FB  20/  If you could change one thing in your life experience what would it be?

I don’t know if I would change anything, because who knows who I would be if I did. We make all these choices in life – some are made for us. But if one thing in my life had gone differently, well, I might not be here at all.

FB  21/ What advice would you give to other budding musicians stepping into the music industry today?

Don’t settle. Don’t conform. Don’t be afraid to throw out the conventional wisdom, trust your gut, and go your own way.

FullSizeRender (78)

Thank You Harry for taking part on ForgottenBeeBlog and I wish you luck and well deserved success with your new album. Looking forward to seeing you live in the UK in the future 🙂 x

Photography Courtesy of Harry Metzler and Jane Metzler @JaneMetzler

Twitter:  @IllAdvised

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/IllAdvised/

Website: IllAdvised.net

YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/user/WeAreIllAdvised

Leave a Reply

